The booklet of the Shenmue soundtrack (Original Sound Track / シェンムー / 一章 横須賀) lists the composers ("Sound Creator") of all except these two pieces:

  • Flower Girl (disc 1, track 17)
  • 受け継がれし技 (disc 2, track 12)
    • AKA: Receive a Skill to Succeed

Who composed these?

The composers listed for the other tracks are Takenobu Mitsuyoshi, Yuzo Koshiro, Takeshi Yanagawa, Osamu Murata, and Ryuji Iuchi.

  • 2
    Related Meta discussion: “Identify this song / genre / artist” - on topic?
    – unor
    Mar 13 '15 at 18:37
  • 2
    This is a very good question. It seems that all sources omit the composers for these two particular tracks. I would be curious to learn who is behind those compositions.
    – MMM
    Mar 18 '15 at 10:15
  • It's most likely the composers listed on the other songs. Sep 24 '15 at 3:43

Flower Girl was composed by Ryuji Iuchi

Receive a Skill to Succeed was composed by Takenobu Mitsuyoshi

Source: http://tk-nz.game.coocan.jp/ysmusic/yk-2/cd/cd_yk2_shm_ost.html (look for composer column)

Flower Girl - 井内竜次 (translates to Ryuji Iuchi)

受け継がれし技 (Receive a Skill to Succeed) - 光吉猛修 (translates to Takenobu Mitsuyoshi)

You can get to the same results by analysing track info from a ripped CD.

Extra: I also found an interesting forum post that includes an interview with Takenobu Mitsuyoshi and more info about the soundtrack in question - http://www.shenmuedojo.net/forum/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=42297

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.