An Albanian poet I'm reading mentions a "symphony" that, after a commercial break, resumes at Toccata and Fugue. I assume this is a reference to Stokowski's orchestral transcription of the Bach but it occurred to me there might be an actual symphony with a single movement entitled Toccata and Fugue.

  • 2
    At the time of Bach, sinfonia practically always meant an instrumental movement in e.g. a cantata, or three-part pieces as opposed to the two-part as inventions. I did not yet find any sinonia from Bach, which was further partitioned into separate movements.
    – guidot
    Nov 28, 2019 at 13:27

1 Answer 1


It's very likely this "symphony" is fictional.

There are a number of symphonies with movements entitled either "Toccata" or "Fugue".

  • The last movement of Charles-Marie Widor's Symphony for Organ no.5 is titled "Toccata"
  • The two movements of William Schumann's Symphony No.3 are titled "Passacaglia and Fugue" and "Chorale and Toccata"
  • The finale of Kaikhosru Shapurji Sorabji‘s Second Organ Symphony consistes of four parts: Prelude, Adagio, Toccata and a Fugue
  • The sixth movement of Howard Blake's Symphony No.2 "Toccata" is titled "Fugue"

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.